Thinking Class
Thinking Class
#018 - Lionel Shriver - Why I Left Britain (And Why I Feel Guilty About It)
0:00
-1:03:42

#018 - Lionel Shriver - Why I Left Britain (And Why I Feel Guilty About It)

Britain needs a new political party and to overcome its complacency

Hello class mates.

In this episode, my guest Lionel Shriver and I talk about mass immigration to Britain and the subsequent demographic transformation, why populism is thriving even without political representation, why Britain needs a new party, imitating bad American ideas is not a good strategy, the role complacency plays in a country's future, cultural decline and the prospect of renewal, and the fragility of order.

Lionel is an author of 8 books, including, 'We Need To Talk About Kevin', which won the Orange Prize for Fiction in 2005 and a journalist, with a fortnightly column in The Spectator and a contributor to The Times.

Lionel's honesty serves up a heartfelt, no-nonsense episode, which may be refreshing or the opposite, depending on your disposition.

Before you dive in, you would really be helping me out if you pressed subscribe on the device you are listening to the show on. The more subscribers we have, the more guests we can attract, and the faster Thinking Class grows.

Enjoy the show, class mates.


Show notes
I'm leaving Britain - and I feel guilty - The Spectator

If you’d prefer to watch the show then look no further:

0 Comments
Thinking Class
Thinking Class
Thinking Class is a YouTube show and podcast. Join John Gillam to explore what made our civilisation, what is unmaking it, and how leaders should respond to keep it together. Including guests like Ed West, Paul Embery, Frank Furedi, Rakib Ehsan, Esme Partridge, and Tom Owolade.